Sh. Manoj Sinha
Hon'ble Lieutenant Governor
Jammu & Kashmir

Sh. Rajeev Rai Bhatnagar
Advisor to Lt. Governor, J&K
Deptt. of Skill Development

Sh.Atal Dulloo, IAS
Chief Secretary,
Government of
Jammu and Kashmir

Sh. Kumar Rajeev Ranjan, IAS
Administrative Secretary to the Government of J&K
Deptt. of Skill Development

Sh. Sudershan Kumar, JKAS
Director Skill Development
Government of
Jammu and Kashmir


The development of Skill Development, contributes substantially to the Socio-sustenance of the industrial sector, is entirely dependent upon the availability of trained manpower to perform the multidimensional activities needed to keep the wheel of industry running. The Skill Development Department aims towards making available these trained technically qualified hands to serve the industry and society. Technical education system is thus made flexible enough to adapt to rapid change. In the state, the Department of Skill Development plays a lead role in the Technical education sector. The Directorate of Skill Development ensures a planned development of Skill Development in the state consistent with the policies of State and the Nation. We are committed to provide need based, quality technical and professional human resources to the industry, business and community.

The Department of Skill Development, as it is known today came into existence in the year 1981, having under its ambit both Polytechnics and Industrial Training Institutes (ITI's). It owes its genesis to the Department of Industrial Training and Employment which in 1979 diverged into the Directorate of ITI's lasting till 1981. Polytechnic Institutes were then under the Higher Education Department before the formation of the Department of Skill Development.The Department initially had 07 ITI's and 02 Polytechnics, which over a period of time have grown to 52 Govt. ITI's & 26 functional Provate ITIs and 32 Polytechnics {24 in Government Sector and 08 in Private Sector} out of 24 Government Polytechnics 02 Polytechnics one each are operating under the administrative control of Islamic University of Science and Technology (IUST) Awantipora Pulwama and Baba Gulam Shah Badshah University (GBSBU) Rajouri ... more